April 18, Sunday: VIRTUAL Scholarship Competition

Application deadline: applications must be postmarked by March 1, 2021

The Cleveland Cello Society (CCS) is pleased to announce its 22nd annual scholarship competition, open to talented young cellists residing in the State of Ohio. Please remember that a candidate may not win twice in a division (Elementary, Junior, Senior, Collegiate), but is welcome to audition in a new division when qualified to do so.  The competition is divided into four categories: applicants should review the requirements of each category carefully. The winners will be asked to perform on a CCS recital to be scheduled during the 2021-22 season. 

Note that the competition will be VIRTUAL (online only).

General requirements:

1. The contestant must perform the compositions listed on his or her application from memory.

2. There will be NO piano accompaniment for any piece this year.  Entrants will just record their cello solo.

3. The applicant must provide a scanned copy of the pieces performed

4. Each contestant will be asked to submit a video of their pieces.  Video submission details will be sent to each contestant upon receipt of application.


Collegiate Division:  through age 23; as of September 1, 2021.

TWO prizes in this division - Gold Medal Prize: $1,500.   Silver Medal Prize: $1,000. 
Requirements: a) one movement from a standard concerto AND b) one movement from a Bach Solo Suite

Senior Division:  grades 9 through 12. Prize: $750.
Requirements: a) one movement from a Bach Solo Suite AND b) a solo piece of your choice

Junior Division:  grades 6 through 8.   George Knobeloch Edwards Prize $500.
Requirements: a) one movement from a Bach Solo Suite AND b) a solo piece of your choice.

Elementary Division through grade 5.    Mary Margaret Kramer Prize: $300.
Requirements: two contrasting solo pieces of your choice.

Agnew Prize for Bach: A $300 award will be given for the best performance of Bach by a Collegiate Division competitor.  The winner of the Agnew Prize may or may not be the same individual as the winner of the Collegiate Division Gold or Silver Medal Prize.

Entrants, note the scholarship application deadline is March 1, 2021.  Click here to apply for the competition online OR download the application form to return via U.S. Mail